Tuition and Fees
Tuition is charged by the program. A tuition and fee schedule is contained in the current Insert to the catalog.
THE SCHOOL REQUIRES that tuition payments must be current before students can progress to their Internship programs; sit for final examinations, graduation or placement assistance.
1. Payment in full (in the form of cash, credit card, check or money order made payable to Modern Technology School) before the first class session,
2. Payment of tuition and other fees may also be paid in an equal monthly payment, over the length of the program taken. Payments are due starting the first day of class, and continuing on the first day of each month thereafter, until paid in full.
You can use the U.S. Department of Education’s Net Price Calculator to estimate costs.
Tuition payments should be either delivered in person to the Accounting Manager during regular business hours or postmarked and mailed so as to be received by their due date. Please note that checks which are returned for non-sufficient funds will be assessed a $10.00 processing fee. If tuition payments by check are returned more than once during the contract term, future payments will have to be made in cash, credit card or money order. Information regarding these payment plans may be obtained from the Business Office.
Students who are delinquent with respect to any tuition obligation after the tenth calendar day following the due date shall be assessed a late fee of five percent (5%) of each such installment, or $5.00, whichever is less, subject to a minimum late charge of $1.00. In addition, any student who is delinquent in his/her tuition payment obligation in excess of ten (10) calendar days may be suspended from class by the Accounting Manager. Students will not be readmitted until all delinquent payments, and late fees, are paid in full. Students who are delinquent for more than 30 calendar days may be dismissed from the Program.
Textbooks are included in the cost of the program and will be ordered by the School for the student.
State Examination Fees
State examination and application fees for the X-ray Technician program will be paid by the school upon graduation; and only if the applicant takes and passes the exam within 30 days of the initial application.
EQUIPMENT and FEES Uniforms: Regulation uniforms and/or lab jackets must be worn during classroom and clinical assignments. The student is required to purchase and maintain his/her uniforms.
Equipment: The School reserves the right to charge a student for the cost of equipment breakage, damage or loss due to negligence on the part of the student at either the School or clinical site.
Student Tuition Recovery Fund
California Law requires that upon enrollment a fee be assessed in relation to the cost of tuition (Educational Code Section 94343). These fees support the Student Tuition Recovery Fund, a special fund established by the California Legislature to reimburse students who might otherwise experience a financial loss as a result to untimely school closures. Institutional participation is mandatory. As of January 1, 2015 these fees have been reduced to $0.
To be eligible you must be a California resident and reside in California at the time the enrollment is signed, or when you receive lessons at a California mailing address from an approved institution offering correspondence instruction. Students who are temporarily residing in California for the sole purpose of pursuing an education specifically those who hold student visas, are not considered a California resident.
To qualify for STRF reimbursement you must file a STRF application within one year of receiving notice from the Bureau that the school is closed. If you do not receive notice from the Bureau’s, you have four (4) years from the date of closure to file a SRFR application. If a judgement is obtained, you must file a STRF application with two (2) years of the final judgement.
You are eligible for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) if all the following applies to you:
You are a student in an education program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition either by cash, guaranteed student loans, or personal loans.
Your total charges are not paid by any third-party payer such as an employer, government program or other payer unless you have a separates agreement to repay the third party.
You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if either of the following applies to you:
You are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program.
Your total charges are paid by a third party, such as an employer, government program or other payer, and you have no separate agreement to repay the third party.
The State of California created the Student Tuition Recovery Act (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic losses suffered by students in educational programs who are California residents, or are enrolled in a residency programs attending certain schools regulated by the Bureau for Private Post Secondary Education.
You may be eligible for STRF if you are a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following:
1. the school closed before the course of instruction was completed.
2. the school’s failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of a student to a third party for license frees or any other purpose, or to provide equipment or material for which a charge was collected within 180 days before the closure of the school.
3. the school’s failure to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federally guaranteed student loan program as required by law or to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the school prior to closure in excess of tuition and other costs.
4. There was a material failure to comply with the Act or this the Division within 30 days before the schools closed or, if the material failure began earlier than 30 days prior to closure, the period determined by the Bureau.
5. An inability after diligent efforts to prosecute, prove, and collect on a judgment against the institution for a violation of the Act.
However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification number.
It is important that you keep copies of the enrollment agreement, financial aid papers, receipts or any other information that documents the moneys paid to the school. Any questions you may have regarding you enrollment agreement that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to the address below:
State of California
Bureau for Private Post-secondary Education (BPPE)
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400
Sacramento, CA 95833
A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution by calling the toll free number at 888-370-7589 or completing a complaint form which can be obtained on the bureau’s Internet web-site.